Plane Crash Claims Life of Sharks Prospect Danlil Sobchenko

You have probably heard this elsewhere already, but I thought it would be remiss if we did not mention it here in a short post. Yesterday a plane carrying the KHL hockey team Lokomotiv crashed, killing over 40 passengers, including the 2011 6th round draft pick of the Sharks Danlil Sobchenko, along with recent NHL players Pavel Demitra and Ruslan Salei. I watched Sobchenko play for the Russian team at last year’s World Junior Championships, as well as just a few days ago actually, watching whatever clips I could find of him online. To my eye he looked to be one of the most skilled players Doug Wilson has ever drafted in the latter rounds. He had great balance, hands, and poise with the puck. He truly had a bright future in the National Hockey League. It’s very sad. I have nothing to profound to say. Everyone who knew him says he was a great kid, and in my opinion he looked to be on track towards developing into a great NHL player as well.

Let’s remember him and all the victims, and send our best wishes to their families and friends.

